• Recent Questions
  • Popular Questions

This question has been closed by the author.Does anyone have a problem with their gifts and gift messages changing by themselves? Can settings change by themselves?


I have a friend who claims his gifts and comments on them changes by themselves.  Is anyone else’s doing this or is he trying to pull a fast one on me?  I don’t know of anyone else who has theirs change on its own. Thanks!

He also said that his privacy settings changed by themselves?  Can they?

 

 

    Answer from MomsBassetHound
    posted 3 years ago

    It can only be a qlitch b/c there is no way that anyone can change the message on a gift that was sent. You also have the choice of keeping the message private, but that doesn’t change the message, just doesn’t allow anyone but the recipient to see it.

    Everyone has the option of deleting gifts. Personally I delete all gifts except the Expressions. The mini items still stay in my closet, and badges still remain mine, they are just removed from my list of gifts.

    Answer from WildCard8122
    posted 3 years ago

    sorry i put the question wrong on that..what i want to know is does the privacy on the gifts and comments change by themselves?a friend says his changes from showing who sent gifts to not showing on their own and i just dont belivew they do that

    Answer from MomsBassetHound
    posted 3 years ago

    That’s a known problem, but since it doesn’t happen to everyone Pogo is having a problem fixing it. I check my settings weekly and sometimes they are correct and sometimes they are not.

    Answer from luvldybg
    posted 3 years ago

    Yes..I am having the same problem..wish they would fix this as its not private..I do not delete the gifts or messages..as to me this is not the way it was set up..I go into my account each day and check it..This to me is aggravating..

    Answer from MomsBassetHound
    posted 3 years ago

    I don’t delete them b/c of the changing settings. I delete them b/c I don’t need them in 2 places. I keep all my expressions b/c that is the only place you can view them.

    Answer from mspatmac
    posted 3 years ago

    It just happened to me the other day. I keep my gifts but have senders private. This is the second time it has happened so I now check periodically.

    Answer from BattyJanice
    posted 3 years ago

    This happens to me too, basically every day. My Security/privacy settings on who can view my profile changes itself to “Everyone” from where I set it “Pogo Players”. My “keep sender names private” and “Keep messages private” on gifts keep unchecking themselves making everything public. If I am in Stealth Mode, it resets me back to Social mode. I check them just before I log off for the day, and check them when I log on again next time. And inevitably all my settings are back to Pogo”default”.
    I agree, it is annoying, and could cause an actual security risk for some people plagued with RL and/or online stalkers. But I have just gotten used to it and given up on trying to set my privacy and security higher anymore. I haven’t found any set pattern to when and how it resets, and since it is not a site-wide issue (affecting everyone), I doubt Pogo will put much efort into fixing it.*shrugs*

    Answer from TigerWoodsBstEvr
    posted 3 years ago

    As far as the stealth settings go, it will not last an entire day on stealth, there is no set period of time, I tend to load a second tab when I load the first tab and set them both to stealth…one I’ll use for the games, the other will be on my friends tab, and check it every once in awhile, or if I’m switching games. If I’d have to give you some sort of timeframe, I’d say in my experience, if it lasts more than 4 hours consecutively while playing that’s excellent, because typically, it will go back to green(non-stealth)…social, and the fact you to have to keep checking becomes a habit(obsession almost) that you can’t avoid…if you want to play privately, due to non-s/w code adjustment to correct these glitches…(be nice Tiger!) :)

    As far as the gift settings, same question not sure if its answered, because everytime I check those gift boxes (there’s two), and save, the next time I look, they are unchecked again. I think I’ve noticed that for like a year, but only thought it was me…LOL, or it wasn’t worth calling 1-800-I-DONT-KNOW-POGOS-#. and figured someone reported it, and it would have been fixed…but guess not? Thanks if it was answered, probably Mom’s :)

    Answer from littlecaterpilla
    posted 3 years ago

    This used to happen to me all the time..and the one thing that actually helped stop this from occurring is to go in and out of stealth mode ONLY in the page where you change all of your settings, after you have entered your password. Keep your clicker OFF that little green or gray dot on any other page; it can actually show an incorrect setting. If you change your social/stealth status on the home page or a game page, you CAN accidentally reset your settings to default, which is wide open. Ever since I have disciplined myself to only change the green to gray and gray to green on the settings page and then save, my settings/messages/gifts remain private as long as I wish. I have shared this with others and they have had the same success. You can try it too, although there is no guarantee, it works very well for me. Good luck.

    Answer from BattyJanice
    posted 3 years ago

    @littlecaterpilla-
    Interesting and thank you for the info! I will have to do that too and see if it works for me. I gotta admit, changing my settings daily and dealing with the Stealth/Social settings changing themselves is annoying. And your method is less aggravation and work than having to change settings several times each day.

    Answer from BattyJanice
    posted 3 years ago

    Sadly, for me changing the Stealth/Social mode only from My Account Settings page made no difference. I did keep track for several days when my gift settings and Stealth/Social settings changed themselves. And for me it seems like if someone posts in my GB, it changes. If I play a game that is in a pop-up window (I don’t have the games in pop-up windows setting turned on), it changes again. If someone looks at my profile while I am in an Embedded game, it changes again. Lol! It just changes whenever it feels like it. So I am just going to shrug my shoulders and go back to not worrying about it. ;)

    Answer from Susie_in_KC
    posted 3 years ago

    It is a known glitch as Moms said earlier. I didn’t want to have to deal with changing my settings every day so I just let the the senders see who sends me gifts. I don’t like it…but it is what it is.

Question is Closed

This question is closed to new answers.

Other Questions